jump to navigation

This one’s a little contrived. . . May 15, 2008

Posted by Nate in Spirituality.
trackback

It’s quiet now. My electric guitar rests in its stand. I’m not really in the mood to work on any music tonight. I just need to absorb some. I plug in my iPod and get a little David Crowder*Band going.

My mind is racing. Like Speed’s Mach 5, the wheels in my head are going at 5000+ RPM. So much is happening in my life right now. The paradigm in the community of my mind is beginning to shift. Nothing in my life is solid. Nothing stands still.

David Crowder asks me a question through the speakers. “Can you feel it?” I shrug off his question, but he asks it again. “Can you feel it?” I try to ignore him, but he comes back with the same question, this time clarifying as if I didn’t know what he was talking about. “The peace in this place, can you feel it?”

Honestly, Dave? No, I can’t. My mind is restless, my heart is weak under the rushing tempest of life.

The playlist keeps going. Dave keeps singing. This time he sings words penned by St. Francis of Assisi:

“Let all things their Creator bless,
And worship Him in humbleness,
O praise Him! Alleluia!
Praise, praise the Father, praise the Son,
And praise the Spirit, Three in One!”

Oh, I get it, Dave. Can you feel the peace in your life? No? Worship your Creator.

While he was still speaking, yet another messenger came and said, “Your sons and daughters were feasting and drinking wine at the oldest brother’s house, when suddenly a mighty wind swept in from the desert and struck the four corners of the house. It collapsed on them and they are dead, and I am the only one who has escaped to tell you!”

At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship and said:
“Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
and naked I will return there.
The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away;
may the name of the LORD be praised.”

“Father-God, my soul is not at peace. You are the everlasting God, forever to be praised! You alone can give perfect peace. Your name, Father, is a Strong Tower. May my lips praise your name for all time and eternity.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

